Time flies…

Doctor in a sweatshirt and boots

Hello! I’ve been sick this week and dealing with sinus crud, but the good news is the weather in Iowa has turned and it’s officially springtime. It’s been just lovely out and we’ve been enjoying getting outside more and even enlisted little Doctor’s help for yard work over the weekend.

Doctor in a sweatshirt and boots
Doctor’s yard work outfit

Last Friday I ended up having a late work shift, meaning Doc went to school in the morning and I had some free time. Of course I was having a blast, pulling out my knitting and getting to sit and plan some upcoming projects.

But of course, about an hour later I was dealing with this:

Well, f#@<. #knittingfail #brandnewneedles #firstproject #noseriously #knitting

A post shared by Very Good Threads (@verygoodthreads) on

And yes, I’ve contacted the company and I’m getting a refund. And yes, I have other size 2.25mm (US 1) needles. But I lost my groove on the mittens. It’s temporary, we don’t need to be concerned, but I decided to put them down for a bit. I’ll pick them up and finish them soon.

But I still had all this free time – luckily I have no shortage of crafty projects that call for my attention. So I finished up this mini quilt top that I cut out forever ago:

This is the Moda love quilt pattern (FREE!). I love this pattern because it’s written for layer cakes, or sized down for charms and even mini-charms! I did the mini-charm sized one, but instead of using mini charms I cut up scrap fabric and a couple of fat quarters.

I started this because I had just finished two huge (for me) quilt tops and I really needed a smaller, quicker project. I’m also thinking of quilting it free motion on my machine, which I’ve never tried before. (I’ll definitely practice on some scrap fabric first!)

I have one other finished object this week and it was a quick knit baby hat made with leftover Berroco Vintage from my stash. This is the Basic Baby Hat pattern by Heather Tucker. This is a gift for Doctor’s teacher who’s expecting in July. I used magic loop on this (I’m hooked!) but also because I couldn’t find the right dpns to do it otherwise.

red baby hat, knitted

So one more thing, I’ve cast on a new set of socks! I just got two skeins of White Birch Fiber Arts a couple of weeks ago, and I very nearly cast on the Sunny Day colorway but at the last minute I saw Jasmin from Knitmore Girls had cast on a baby sweater in this color. I need to see what that looks like before I decide what I’m making with mine, now.

So because it matches the weather outside perfectly, I cast on my other White Birch Fiber Arts skein, Nothing Says Screw You Like a Rainbow.

These are toe up, two at a time, vanilla socks. It took a ton of fiddly work to get them matching, but I’m hoping against hope that I’m ready to just go on these. I really needed a purse project that I can mindlessly work on. Finally!

Leave a Reply

