Donesies.

I finished this lovely Daybreak shawl. If you think that was quick, I agree with you. I think I was helped by the fact that I did the smallest size in two skeins of worsted (That’s Madelinetosh Vintage, one skein each in colorways Charcoal and Begonia Leaf).

I did a couple fewer stripes than the pattern calls for so I could do a little lacey edge and then a few rows of garter stitch for the border. I love this yarn – it’s incredibly soft and a block in some eucalan has made this shawl smell heavenly.

Also this week, a very quick project:

This is the Orbital pattern from Knitpicks 52 weeks of dishcloths. I’m not sure the yarn – some kind of cotton in my stash that wasn’t peaches and cream – possibly cascade pima? The label’s long gone and apparently I never put it on ravelry. As you can see, I’m not a crocheter, but I’m improving ever so slightly and little projects like this are good practice. I did the Magic Circle for this project, a technique I wasn’t familiar with until now but which I think is going to help me for finishing Joe’s Beer Mitts which I’m still working on. Anyone know how to get rid of that seam line I’ve got going down that dishcloth? It’s really visible where I started and ended my rows, and I’m not sure if that’s normal or (more likely) something I’m doing wrong. Dishcloths really do make the best projects for learning new techniques. If it ends up looking awful, no one cares – it’s about to be plunged into hot, gross water soon anyway. Plus, I find cotton a little easier to “read” when you’re new to a technique than wool or acrylic, but that’s just my personal opinion.

Parking and drafting has ended, but no worries – that’s because I’m SPINNING. I had been able to do it a couple of times, but any time I tried to spin consistently I was getting backspinning. (Is that a word? I’m not familiar with all the spinny lingo yet!) BUT I had a breakthrough this morning – Joe and I were relaxing on our porch and all of a sudden everything clicked and now I’m spinning up a storm. I think the big deal breaker came from a pointer in the excellent book Respect the Spindle – I was spinning too thick a yarn.

Once I started pulling down more of a lace weight – all of a sudden the problems I was having disappeared and now all my spindle wants to do is GO!

Leave a Reply

