Simple Shawl

I certainly wasn’t the first to come up with this technique, nor will I be the last. As a beginner knitter I remember searching far and wide for a REALLY simple triangle shawl pattern that would knit up quickly, and I came up empty. I wrote this one up for my own records and to use when I was teaching beginners, and I posted it because I got some requests to make it public. Here’s the pattern I wrote up.

One more thing – it hasn’t been tested at all. Knit at your own risk and always buy extra yarn of the same dye lot if possible.

Simple Shawl

Materials:

One pair size 15 US needles (10 mm). (Unless you really prefer straight needles, I would recommend using circular needles with a cable length of 24-40″ to accommodate the width of the shawl. The project is knit flat.)

820 (1230, 1640, 2050) yards /Medium (Large, XL, XXL) Malabrigo merino worsted yarn in color of your choice

OR

Substitute any worsted or aran weight yarn.

Instructions:

First, divide your yarn into an even number of at least two balls. OR the skeins can be wound into center pull balls where you will pull from both the center and the outside of the wound ball simultaneously. The reason for doing this is that the yarn will be held double while you knit. 

With yarn held double (holding two strands of yarn,) cast 3 stitches onto your size 15 needle.

Row 1: Knit

Row 2: Knit 1, KFB (Knit into the front and back of the stitch), Knit 1 (Increased by 1 stitch, 4 stitches total)

Row 3: Knit

Row 4: Knit 1, KFB, KFB, Knit 1 (Increased by 2 stitches, 6 stitches total)

Row 5: Knit

Row 6: Knit 1, KFB, knit until two stitches remain, KFB, Knit 1


Repeat rows 5 and 6, alternating one knit row and one increase row until piece measure 22 (Small) (26(Med), 30(Lar), 34(XL)) inches from bottom tip to the top, or until you run out of yarn.

I like to put a split ring marker on one side of my fabric to help me remember which side is the increase side, and which side is the “Knit across” side. Once I get going, I forget which side is which, and newer knitters especially may not be able to tell which side they’re on by looking at their stitches.

Bind off loosely and weave in loose ends.

This is a very easy pattern for a beginner who is looking to learn how to do increasing without too much work. 

*** Author’s Note: The method of “increase” I used was to Knit Front and Back (KFB), however, you could modify the pattern and use whatever increase method you prefer. More information about different ways of increasing is here: http://www.knittinghelp.com/videos/increases

This shawl is done by knitting two strands of yarn together at the same time. I used two strands of the same color, but you could combine two different colors for a funky, twisted look.

Shown below in Lion Brand Wool-Ease Worsted Weight in Oxford Grey. This size (which I would call Extra-small) used two skeins and had a bit left over. For the shawl below, I picked up some stitches on the edges and created two “ties.” I wasn’t crazy about how they looked, though, which is why I didn’t include this in the finished pattern I wrote.


The above shawl was made to auction for a wonderful community theatre group called Twelfth Night Productions. They are located in West Seattle.

Leave a Reply

